Signal Booster Project 2.0

This is Saturday afternoon, and I just had a great weekend activity with my Dad..

Today is the third day my mom complained about our internet connection at home that didn’t work. I use wi-fi router with Telkomsel Flash modem at home. We feel that Telkomsel internet connection quality is weakening day by day. One reason is because our home is now being surrounded by higher buildings, so it’s hampering the signal reception and the condition gets worst when it is cloudy or raining.

Just couple of weeks before, Mas H browsed on internet and found on Youtube to help me improving my signal quality so that we can have a better way to communicate. He wrote it on his blog that you can read here. Hence, I was thinking whether I can improve my wi-fi router signal quality using aluminium foil. So this morning I browsed on the internet to find some prior information that probably can be useful for me.

Before lunch, I asked my dad to be my partner in doing this Signal Booster Project 2.0 (sounds cool, yeah! :p). All materials we use can be found easily with quite cheap price🙂

Tools and Materials

Tools and Materials

Tools and Materials

  • Aluminium foil
  • Scissor
  • Wire mesh

The size of aluminium foil and wire mesh should be adjusted with your wi-fi router size.

Process

Wire Mesh Cutting Process

Wire Mesh Cutting Process

  1. Estimate the length and width of the wire mesh that you need to make a curve around your wi-fi router.
  2. Cut the wire mesh.
  3. Cut the aluminium foil to cover the wire mesh one side only.
  4. Cover only one side of the wire mesh with the aluminium foil.
  5. Curve the wire mesh
Aluminium Foil Curve

This is how your aluminium foil should look like

Tests and Result🙂

We are lucky as today’s weather is not really good. It is cloudy and it is raining quite hard after 3 pm. So we are having a good tested condition for our new signal booster’s power😀

I am using Telkomsel Halo simcard with 3GBs unlimited data package. My sister is using Telkomsel Halo simcard with 4GBs quota data package. First, I used my SIM card to be inserted in my modem that is connected to the wi-fi router.

Speed Test

Speed Test, Modem Mode (Left side: without aluminium foil, Right side: with aluminium foil)

Above is the test result using speedtest.net. Left side is the download and upload speed of my simcard that is being used as a modem using wi-fi router without aluminium foil and the right side is using the aluminium foil.

Pan Lid Covered with Aluminium Foil

Pan Lid Covered with Aluminium Foil

Unsatisfied with the result I got above, I tried checking the internet speed using the aluminium foil that we used to cover the inner part of a plastic bowl and no longer used aluminium pan lid. We tested it using my SIM card + cellphone (Samsung Galaxy S2) and my sister’s SIM card + cellphone (LG Optimus 2X).

Below is the result we got by comparing the download and upload speed under 3 conditions in the same spot using Speedtest.net application for Android:

Speedtest Result

Speed test result on my SIM card (left: without foil, middle: plastic bowl aluminium foil, right: pan lid aluminium foil)

And below is the result we got by comparing the download and upload speed under 3 conditions in the same spot using Speedtest.net application for Android using my sister’s SIM card:

Speedtest Result

Speed test result on my sister’s SIM card (left: without foil, middle: plastic bowl aluminium foil, right: pan lid aluminium foil)

There you go🙂 I have tried!! And now I hope you guys might find it to be useful especially when you are facing a nerve-taking signal problem.

One thought on “Signal Booster Project 2.0

  1. Pingback: Yuk, Menulis! | DeaR

Leave a Reply

