To the man we love… Happy father’s day! :)

Untuk para sahabat, keluarga, dan kerabat yang terkasih.

To our dearest friends, families, and relatives.

Terima kasih sudah memberikan kami waktu untuk menyelesaikan duka kami. Terima kasih untuk keberadaan dan dukungan kalian selama masa duka kami. Kebaikan yang sangat berarti bagi kami dan kami berharap dapat membalas setiap kebaikan tersebut di kemudian hari.

Thanks for giving us enough time to finish our grieve. Thanks for your presence and support during our grieving period. Your kindness means a lot to all of us and we hope that we can repay all the good deeds we received one day.

Bagi saya, Ayah (kami memanggilnya Upup) adalah cinta pertama saya untuk seorang laki-laki. Dia laki-laki pertama yang tidak akan pernah menyakiti saya. Bahkan kepergiannya tidak memberikan saya sakit hati atau penyesalan. Dia adalah sahabat saya, dia adalah orang yang mengajarkan saya bahwa hidup tidak harus berkecukupan, tapi harus berjalan dengan jujur dan lurus.

For me, my father (we used to call him Upup) was my first love. He’s the man who never hurt me. Even when he left us, he did not break my heart, nor he gave me regret. He was my best friend, he was the person who taught me by showing that life doesn’t have to be wealthy, but it has to be honest and right.

Dia mengajarkan saya naik sepeda. Dia juga yang mengajarkan saya mengemudikan mobil. Mobil kami adalah mobil otomatis tapi dia bersikeras jika saya tidak bisa mengemudikan mobil manual maka saya tidak akan pernah diperbolehkan mengendarai mobil. Dia berada di sana saat konser pertama saya dan adik saya, dia di sana saat saya pertama kali melakukan pertunjukkan tari, dia di sana saat saya dan adik saya menyanyi di gereja untuk pertama kalinya, dia di sana saat saya terjatuh. Dia bukan orang yang banyak bicara, tapi segala sesuatu ditunjukkannya lewat bagaimana dia menjalani hidup.

He was the one who taught me how to bike. He was the one who taught me how to drive. Our cars are automatic cars but he insisted that if I couldn’t drive a manual car, he would never let me and my sister to drive his cars. He was there in my sister’s and my first musical concert, he was there when my sister and I did our first dance performance, he was there when my sister and I sang in the church for the first time, he was there when I fell. He was not a talkative person, but taught us how to live by giving a real example.

Sebagai seorang kekasih, saya tidak bisa tidak mengidolakan sosok beliau untuk kekasih impian saya. Ibu bercerita bahwa dia bersedia bangun tengah malam untuk menidurkan saya. Dia tidak malu mencuci dan menyetrika pakaian kami. Walaupun masakannya tidak seenak masakan Ibu, tapi dia tidak malu memasak saat Ibu terkapar karena sakit. Saya tidak pernah mendengarnya mengatakan ‘aku sayang padamu’ kepada Ibu di depan kami. Tapi dia akan membangunkan kami pagi-pagi dan membuat kami menunggu tiga jam di stasiun untuk menjemput Ibu dari Bandung. Mereka berdua menunjukkan pada saya bahwa ada cinta yang bertahan hingga maut memisahkan.

As a lover, it’s hard for me to not to idolize him to be my dream lover. Mom told me that he was willing to wake up in the middle of the night to make me sleep. He wasn’t shy to wash and iron our clothes. Even though he was not a good cook, he didn’t shy to cook when Mom was sick. I never heard him saying ‘I love you’ to my mom in front of us, but he would wake us up very early in the morning and made us waiting for three hours in the train station to pick Mom up from Bandung. They both showed us that ‘love till death do us part’ does exist.

Dia mengajarkan saya untuk tidak menyesali hidup. Bahkan saat terakhir pun, sekitar pukul 6 pagi di Belgia adik saya menelepon dan memberikan saya kesempatan untuk berbicara pada ayah saya. Saya hanya berkata padanya, “Ayah, saya sangat mencintaimu. Terima kasih untuk semua yang telah Ayah berikan. Jika saat ini Ayah merasa sakit, maka pergilah…” Dan tidak lama berselang saya mendapat kabar bahwa Ayah telah pergi. Terima kasih untuk kesempatan yang Ayah berikan sehingga bahkan di saat terakhir pun saya tidak menyesal karena ada hal yang belum bisa saya sampaikan.

He taught me not to live a regretful life. Even in his very last moment, around 6 a.m. in Belgium, my sister called me and gave me a chance to talk to my dad. I told my dad, “I love you, Dad. I love you very much. Thanks for everything you have done for us. If you are feeling hurt, don’t fight it anymore.” And not too long after, I received the news that he has gone. Thanks for giving me the last chance to say what I wanted to say, Dad so that I have no regret for not saying what I wished I could have said.

Just the four of us :)

Untuk saya, ini adalah foto terakhir kami sekeluarga yang diambil saat libur musim panas saya tahun kemarin. Kami bahagia… Terima kasih telah memberikan saya rasa cinta yang tiada taranya. Terima kasih sudah menjadi ayah yang luar biasa bagi kami, yang memberikan kami light saber dan death star. Tolong ingat beliau dengan segala kebahagiaan karena bagi kami beliau adalah bahagia kami.

This is the last picture that I have with the four of us that was taken on my last year summer break. We are happy… Thanks for all the endless love that you have shared with us. Thanks for being an awesome dad for me who gave my sister and me a light saber and a death star. Please remember him in happiness. As for us, he is our happiness.

Happy father’s day, Upup!

Leave a Reply

